Andover Public Schools Printable Calendar 2019-2020

APS Calendar Opens in new window

APS School Year 2019-2020 Calendar

Day, Date                                                                                                        Activity/Event

Monday, August 26, 2019                                                                               First Day of School Staff Only

Wednesday, August 28, 2019                                                                         First Day of School Students and Staff

Friday, August 30, 2019 and Monday, September 2, 2019                            No School Labor Day Recess

Friday, October 11, 2019                                                                                Early Release Day

Monday, October 14, 2019                                                                             No School Columbus Day

Friday, November 1, 2019                                                                              No Kindergarten Classes Teacher Conference

Friday, November 8, 2019                                                                              No School  Note: Elementary Teacher Conferences

Monday, November 11, 2019                                                                         No School Veterans Day

Wednesday, November 27, 2019                                                                   Early Release Day

Thursday, November 28, 2019 and Friday, November 29, 2019                   No School Thanksgiving Recess

Friday, December 6, 2019                                                                               Early Release Day

Monday, December 23, 2019 through Wednesday, January 1, 2020            No School Holiday Recess

Monday, January 20, 2020                                                                             No School Martin Luther King Jr. Day

Friday, January 31, 2020                                                                                 Early Release Day

Monday, February 17, 2020 through Friday, February 21, 2020                   No School Winter Recess

Friday, March 20, 2020                                                                                   Early Release Day

Monday, April 20, 2020 through Friday, April 24, 2020                                 No School Spring Recess

Friday, May 8, 2020                                                                                        Early Release Day

Monday, May 25, 2020                                                                                   No School Memorial Day

Friday, June 5, 2020                                                                                        Early Release Day

Thursday, June 11, 2020                                                                                 Last Day of School if there are no snow days

Thursday, June 18, 2020                                                                                 Last day of School if there are 5 snow days         

Religious and Ethnic Observances 2019-2020

Andover Public Schools serves children from many different religious and ethnic backgrounds, and a goal of the APS Theory of Action is to create safe, caring, and culturally responsive classrooms and schools.  With  that  in  mind,  district  policy  IMDC  "Accommodation  for  Religious  and Ethnic Observances" describes the handling of absences and event scheduling on days which require additional consideration. (See the School Committee policy manual on the APS website). The School Committee recognizes the list below may not include all holidays observed by Andover families, but there has been an attempt to identify the major ones.

Holiday                                            Date

Muharram*                                       Saturday, August 31

Ganesha Chaturthi/ Samvatsari       Monday, September 2

Navaratri                                          Sunday, September 29

Rosh Hashanah* (day 1)                 Monday, September 30

Rosh Hashanah* (day 2)                 Tuesday, October 1

Yom Kippur*                                    Wednesday, October 9

Dasera/ Dussehra                            Tuesday, October 8

First Day of Sukkot*                         Monday, October 14

Diwali                                               Sunday, October 27

Chanukah/ Hanukkah* (day 1)        Monday, December 23

Christmas Eve                                 Tuesday, December 24

Kwanzaa (day 1)                              Wednesday, December 26

Epiphany/ Armenian Christmas       Monday, January 6

Lunar New Year                               Saturday, January 25

Holi                                                   Monday, March 9

Palm Sunday                                   Sunday, April 5

Passover* (day 1)                            Thursday, April 9

Good Friday                                     Friday, April 10

Easter Sunday                                 Sunday, April 12

Orthodox Good Friday                     Friday, April 17

Orthodox Easter Sunday                 Sunday, April 19

Ramadan*                                        Thursday, April 23

Vesak Day                                       Sunday, May 19

Eid al-Fitr*                                        Saturday, May 23

Shavuot*                                          Friday, May 29

*Holidays begin at sundown the day before.